Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

10958402_642009842570250_1809940619_n

Title: If I Stay

Author: Gayle Forman

Publication Year: 2009

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.

I open my eyes wide now.

I sit up as much as I can.

And I listen.

Stay, he says.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make.

Goodreads’ Rating: ★★★.97

My review:

  • Summary

Mia is just a simple girl with a simple yet happy life. She has a happy family and lucky to have a boyfriend like Adam. They first met in high school, but no one knew that they would fall madly in love with each other. Everything was perfect, until an accident happened. The accident killed her family, and left her in a comatose. While in a coma, she just reminisced about the old times. She thought about her experiences, her memories of her family and of Adam. She had some realizations. Through it all, Adam never left her and did everything just to get Mia back to life.

  • Evaluation

I have been reading a lot of good reviews about If I Stay and I am glad that when I read it, it really satisfied me and it met my expectations. I love Mia and Adam. I love how simple they are, and how real they are, and how they just stick with each other through anything and everything. They are both so lucky to have each other. I can say that it is really heartaching but in a beautiful way. It is not just your ordinary, typical love story. It is also a story about family, friendship, passion, and it is a story about one’s self and one’s attitudes towards the different aspects of life.

I love Gayle Forman already. I am very much excited to read her other works – Just One Day, Just One Year, and the newly released I Was Here.

I highly recommend that you read If I Stay. It will be worth all your money and your time and your tears.

My Rating: ★★★★


Click here to buy the book. FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE!

Leave a Reply

