REVIEW: Timebound by Rysa Walker

18108877

TITLE: Timebound

AUTHOR: Rysa Walker

GENRE: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Romance, Adventure, Mystery

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

When Kate Pierce-Keller’s grandmother gives her a strange blue medallion and speaks of time travel, sixteen-year-old Kate assumes the old woman is delusional. But it all becomes horrifyingly real when a murder in the past destroys the foundation of Kate’s present-day life. Suddenly, that medallion is the only thing protecting Kate from blinking out of existence.

Kate learns that the 1893 killing is part of something much more sinister, and Kate’s genetic ability to time-travel makes her the only one who can stop him. Risking everything, she travels to the Chicago World’s Fair to try to prevent the killing and the chain of events that follows.

Changing the timeline comes with a personal cost, howeverβ€”if Kate succeeds, the boy she loves will have no memory of her existence. And regardless of her motives, does she have the right to manipulate the fate of the entire world?

GOODREADS’ RATING:Β β˜…β˜…β˜….85

Buy it at BookDepository (FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE). Click here.

MY THOUGHTS:

This is a very surprisingly good novel about time traveling. The only novel I read about time travel is The Time Traveler’s Wife. It is good, too, but kind of traditional (right?). So anyway back to Timebound, I remember posting an update status on Goodreads saying that I just finished chapter 1 and I was already liking it. From the first chapter up to the last chapter, I love it! I admit that when Ben (@benjaminoftomes) announced that Timebound will be our book of the month for the Goodreads group Read With Ben, I did not expect much from it because I really don’t know what to expect. I haven’t heard about the book before. I haven’t seen it yet being posted by other book bloggers. But I’m glad that I just read an awesome underrated book. I wish more people would know about this book.

As for the characters, the protagonists are amazing, cool, and I love them especially our very cool Grandma Katherine. The characterization for the antagonists are pretty cool too. Rysa Walker made sure that readers would really hate those villains!

I love how powerful the story is. It is about all the interesting things like time travel, adventures, romance, sacrifice, and family. It is also about being strong and believing in yourself, that you could do anything as long as you are willing.

Many may think that it is just a young adult science fiction. Well, honestly, no. This is not your ordinary scifi. This is the sci-fi novel that makes you realize that if you really love someone [could be your family, friends, and/or romantic partner], you are willing to sacrifice for their sake.

I enjoyed reading it, yes. I love it, yes. So why am I giving it 4 stars instead of 5? Because it’s the first book in the series. There are still some questions unanswered. And I am saving the 5 stars for the next book/s.

Anyway, I highly recommend this to everyone!

MY RATING:Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: Timebound by Rysa Walker

  1. I read a young adult book called Ruby Red. It also has time travel as a theme, albeit the storyline is very different. I didn’t like it as much as I thought I did. I love the whole idea of time traveling and after reading your review I may just add this on my to read list because the synopsis sounds interesting. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

