REVIEW: Fat Girl by Susan Bodiker

23867124

**A review copy has been provided to me by Smith Publicity and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.**

TITLE: Fat Girl

AUTHOR: Susan Bodiker

GENRE: Non Fiction, Self Help, Teens & YA

PUBLISHER: Smith Publicity

PUBLICATION DATE: January 13, 2015

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

Fat Girl takes us behind the (un)fun-house mirror and explores how our childhood struggles with weight and body image eat away at our adult self-esteem and keep us from engaging confidently in the world—at school, at work and with others.

With a little bit of snark and a lot of heart, Susan shares her own story of self-healing and reinvention, offering actionable, common-sense ways to:
• change the way you think about food, your body and yourself
• find more satisfying ways to nourish your body and mind
• give yourself the rewarding life you yearn for–and deserve.

A former fat girl herself, Susan started One Girl Wellness to help girls and women benefit from her experience so they can put their energy into building a life, not judging it (and themselves) solely by pounds or calories. To treat their body as the splendid work of art it is. To respect its function and learn to love it.

What this book is not: a no-fail diet plan; a recipe for the perfect life, or a strict nutritionist ideology

What this book can be: a lifeline out of the darkness; a roadmap to greater awareness and self-esteem, a set of tools that just might set you free.

GOODREADS’ RATING: ★★.96

MY THOUGHTS:

This is not your ordinary, cliche, diet or weight loss guide book. 

This book does not tell you steps on how to lose weight or how to be a skinny bitch. It is something better than that. This book can inspire you and can change the way you think about your body and the foods you eat and the way you live. It is more of an eye-opener than a guide book. 

Personally, I was really inspired when I finished reading this book. I was inspired to love myself more, and by loving myself more, I have to take care of my body. I have to eat healthy foods and exercise regularly because I love my body, and not because I have to be skinny or I have to please the society.

I recommend this to those who are tired of the same self-help diet or weight loss books. I’m telling you, Bodiker’s personal story is a very inspirational one and a life-changer.

MY RATING: ★★★★★


Purchase this on Amazon

Leave a Reply

