REVIEW: Somewhere In Between by Katie Li

25966743

TITLE: Somewhere in Between

AUTHOR: Katie Li

PUBLISHER: Kung Fu Girl Books

PUBLICATION DATE: August 25, 2015

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

Two friends find a portal to another dimension and use this “in-between place” to avoid the stress of their everyday lives. What they don’t realize is that every time they enter, they alter reality.

Pseudo-punk Magnolia and underachieving gamer-geek Rom are two unlikely friends who only hang out during their walks home together after school. When they find the a portal that leads to different worlds, they use the “in-between place” as an escape from their lives in high school, then later, after college.

Their visits through the portal bring them teetering along a tight-rope of fantasy and reality, where they don’t always believe what is in front of them, not even their feelings for each other.

The book is about changes—the ones that you can control, and the ones that you can’t. It’s about commitment and friendship. It’s about the stages in between where you have nothing but the unknown ahead of you.

Inspired by the work of Haruki Murakami and films like Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind, Somewhere In Between is metaphysical coming-of-age story about defining love and finding yourself.

GOODREADS’ RATING: ★★★.22

(Read more for my review).

MY REVIEW:

Somewhere in Between is a story of two people, Magnolia and Rom, from their high school until after-college life. Magnolia is the “cool kid” as you may call it, while Rom is just the “ordinary kid” but one day they just became friends and then later on would somehow feel something that is more than just being friends. They just started walking home together. First, of course, there were awkward moments (especially in Rom’s part). But eventually things fell into place. They discovered things about each other; then they discovered the “in-between place”. Everything was just unexpected. In those unexpected moment, their lives were changed.

You might think that it’s just a boring narrative or just like any other contemporary fiction about school and after school life. Well, truth is, it is so much better than that.

Honestly, I was already hooked by the first paragraph. I already felt connected to the book because of that first paragraph. How cool is that? 😉

Throughout the book, the timeline changes from present to past then back to present then back to the past again. I think that’s what the part of the synopsis is about when it said, “What they don’t realize is that every time they enter, they alter reality.” So if you are not patient in reading alternating points of view and/or alternating timelines kind of book, and if you are not into books that do not directly answer your questions, I’m afraid this book is not for you. Luckily for me, I am patient with things like that. I must say that this book has its own beauty (not only the cover but also the content!).

What I love most about it is that it made me feel like I am part of the story. I don’t know if I just have a wide imagination, or if this has really good narration. I also love how it deals with common teens’ problems or deals in life.

I just had a problem with how short it was. I wanted more. I want to know more about the in-between place. I want to know better the characters. I want to live more in their world. It’s amazing how it has a good story despite it being a small book, but I think it can become better. But overall, I really loved Somewhere In Between!

Somewhere in Between is an exceptional book with a very interesting story and unique writing style by the author.

I highly recommend this if you need a new, coming-of-age story, and if you need something that is so unlikely the usual books you read.

**The author gave me a review copy of this in exchange of an honest review. My review is based on what my thoughts are, and it is purely my opinion.**

MY RATING: ★★★★

Buy it here:

Book Depository (FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE) | Amazon (digital)

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Somewhere In Between by Katie Li

  1. Pingback: #IMWAYR No. 2 | 07182016 | books and photographs

  2. Pingback: EXCERPT TUESDAY #2: Somewhere in Between by Katie Li | books and photographs

Leave a Reply

