REVIEW: My Journey There by Robert Brooks Strong

2016-08-05

TITLE: My Journey There

AUTHOR: Robert Brooks Strong

PUBLISHER: Olympia Publishers

PUBLICATION DATE: May 26, 2016

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

I am a seventy-two year old man, and I have had a very interesting life, which I am now happy to share with you. I was born during World War Two, and my parents split up when I was seven years old, my mother having left home to be with her boyfriend. I came from the back streets of South London, and I was a computer programmer by profession, until I committed homicide at the age of thirty-two. I have spent the last forty years in mental hospitals, although I maintain that I am perfectly sane and always have been. I have written many songs, which I hope will become popular one day, as they contain a distillation of wisdom I have acquired over the years. Here is an extract from a song of mine called, ‘The Can Carrier’. ‘I carried the can for you. I proved I’m the man for you. I did what you made me do, And I carried the can.’

(Read more for my review)

MY REVIEW:

My Journey There is a non-fiction book of Robert Brooks Strong wherein he shares with the readers his life, which I must say is like a roller coaster ride, that is a mix of happiness, sadness, anger, disappointment, and experiences that are full of moving lessons.

I was moved with the introduction. When I read it, I couldn’t help but to read further into the book. Actually, it wasn’t my plan to read it one sitting; but I did!

I must say that this book is a funny one with a twist of sadness, witΒ and life realizations in it. I love how Mr. Strong presented his life story in such entertaining way. He told stories from the present then back to the past then move to the future and from the present again. The first time I read a memoir (I prefer not to mention the title, please email or tweet me if you want to know what) I felt so stressed after I read it because everything in it was delivered in a hard way. But My Journey There is so different from that first memoir I read. After I finished reading My Journey There, I felt relieved. I felt excited, even, because of the plan of Mr. Strong to write a sequel! (I’m not telling the title because I feel like it’s somehow spoilery πŸ˜€ ) I felt so honored for having known the story of an inspirational man.

I was amazed by the life of Mr. Strong. He really is strong! I was amazed too on how he managed to live life to the fullest. If I hadn’t read his story, and I just read the synopsis of this book, I wouldn’t know that his life is a life lived fully. For those who haven’t read the book and would readΒ the synopsis only, some might have just judged him ifΒ they Β didn’t read this book.

I was not only amazed by this book. What’s most important is that I learned from it. I learned about different things: life in general, loveΒ in general, romantic love,Β family, career, socializing, happiness, beliefsΒ and everything in between.

With that being said, I suggest that you also read this book. Give the old man a chance to share his inspiring life story with you. You won’t regret it. Plus, it’s good to get out of your comfort zone (comfort genre) once in a while. πŸ˜‰

Love is essentially a spiritual thing and spirit is essentially a magical thing, spirit exists, in a meaningless void in which existence is illogical. That is why love seems magical.

**A review copy was sent to me by the publisher in exchange of an honest review.**

MY RATING: β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

Buy it here:

Book Depository (FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE) | Olympia Publishers | Amazon

 

 

Leave a Reply

