Scared me…then made me cry | REVIEW: Cemetery Tours by Jacqueline E. Smith

about-the-bookSome secrets are best kept laid to rest.

At least, that’s as far as Michael Sinclair is concerned. At twenty-seven, he has spent his entire life pretending that the ghosts he encounters on a daily basis do not exist. Now, if only the dead would let him rest in peace.

Unfortunately, that doesn’t seem likely, especially after Kate Avery and her ailing brother, Gavin, move in next door. Kate and Gavin are haunted, and not by a dearly departed loved one. This spirit is aggressive, menacing, and harboring a dark resentment toward Gavin. In spite of every instinct advising him to walk away, Michael finds himself seeking to uncover the mysteries of Gavin’s past and falling for the bright and lovely Kate. Yet competing for her affection is Luke Rainer, television’s hottest celebrity ghost hunter and the only (living) person to know Michael’s secret.

But the dead have secrets, too. Some will go to any length to withhold what should have gone with them to the grave, while others will risk everything to make their voices heard, even if that means putting another’s life at stake. Now, for the sake of friends and strangers alike, Michael must choose between preserving his cherished anonymity and lending his aid to those for whom all hope seems lost.

Publication: September 14, 2013 by Wind Trail Publishing

Goodreads’ Rating: .35

Buy Links: Book Depository | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

(Read more for my review)

my-thoughtsThis book is a paranormal horror book. It is my first time to read a book about someone who can see ghosts. I started reading it the second week of December 2016 and finished it on Christmas day. I was reading it at a slow pace because I was so afraid to read it at night so I just read it during the day! (I know, I’m such a scared baby, don’t judge me hehe)

The plot is interesting, and the writing style of Jacqueline E. Smith went well with it. It was well-paced. It was neither fast-paced nor slow-paced, which was okay for the book. It was told in a third person point of view, but the POV is like inside the minds of the characters, which I liked because I got to know well the characters and what they were really thinking.

I just think that the characters were presented in a boring way (but it didn’t affect the plot and the style, which was good). But the further I read, the better I got to know them. I like how I got to know them in a better and deeper sense. I got to know the reasons behind their personalities, actions and decisions.

Throughout the story, there are different themes presented which I really liked: living in the moment with your loved ones and not being afraid of dying, accepting, moving on, forgiving and forgetting. These themes are the ones that made me cry.

Overall, I loved this book! I am so excited to get into the second book and know what happens next.

My Rating:

reasons-to-read-it

  • It is not just horror, it has a deeper meaning.
  • You will get to see life from a different perspective.
  • The author is just so awesome and friendly and kind! (Hi there, Jacqueline! ❤ )

(The author sent me a review copy in exchange of an honest review. This does not affect my opinion about the book.)

Leave a Reply

