REVIEW: Fireworks by Katie Cotugno

18444209_535156263274945_9144119230134747136_n

TITLE: Fireworks

AUTHOR: Katie Cotugno

PUBLISHER: HarperCollins

PUBLICATION DATE: April 18, 2017

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

From Katie Cotugno, bestselling author of 99 Days, comes Fireworks—about a girl who is competing with her best friend to become the new pop star of the moment—and all the drama and romance that comes with it—set in Orlando during the late-’90s boy-and-girl-band craze.

It was always meant to be Olivia. She was the talented one, the one who had been training to be a star her whole life. Her best friend, Dana, was the level-headed one, always on the sidelines, cheering her best friend along.

But everything changes when Dana tags along with Olivia to Orlando for the weekend, where superproducer Guy Monroe is holding auditions for a new singing group, and Dana is discovered too. Dana, who’s never sung more than Olivia’s backup. Dana, who wasn’t even looking for fame. Next thing she knows, she and Olivia are training to be pop stars, and Dana is falling for Alex, the earnest, endlessly talented boy who’s destined to be the next big thing.

It should be a dream come true, but as the days of grueling practice and constant competition take their toll, things between Olivia and Dana start to shift . . . and there’s only room at the top for one girl. For Olivia, it’s her chance at her dream. For Dana, it’s a chance to escape a future that seems to be closing in on her. And for these lifelong best friends, it’s the adventure of a lifetime—if they can make it through.

Set in evocative 1990s Orlando, New York Times bestselling author Katie Cotugno’s Fireworks brings to life the complexity of friendship, the excitement of first love, and the feeling of being on the verge of greatness.

(Read more for my review.)

MY REVIEW:

This is my first Katie Cotugno book and I must say it did not disappoint!

I am really not into “girly” type of book, but the synopsis of this book just got me; and I’m glad that the synopsis got me hooked because if not, I wouldn’t have been able to discover the wonderful writing of Katie. ❤ ❤

When I started it, I was like: “Ohh, a fast read. Maybe it’s just like any other YA book wherein the story line is as straight as my hair (LOL).” BUT NOOOO! It’s like the book just shoved it in my face that: “Hey! I’m not like any other YA book you’ve read!”

giphy-downsized

While reading it, I did not expect that I would feel happy and then later on become sad or hurt and almost teary-eyed because a certain event happened. Then came the time when I didn’t know what to feel anymore!

giphy-downsized (1)

I also ended up hating this one character because she deserves my hate. For real. I couldn’t believe I just had all the feels for this book while reading it. It’s draining, but I love it. I don’t even know why or how! Y U DO DIS TO ME KATIEEEE

giphy-downsized

If you think this is a happy book…. *evil laugh* Sorry, but I don’t know if this is kind of spoil-ery or not? But, anyway… I just gotta let you know that this is a mix of happiness and sadness. It is a mix of success and failure (at least, that’s what I think).

Overall, even though this book kind lifted me up then pulled me down then lifted me back up again just to pull me back down again and again and again and again, I LOVED IT! I highly recommend this to you. It’s a perfect summer-friendship-bring-it-to-the-beach kind of read. 😉

*Thank you so much, Harper Collins International, for sending me an advance reader’s copy! This, however, does not affect my opinion about the book.*

MY RATING: ★★

Buy it here:

Book Depository | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

