REVIEW: What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum | #WTSNPHBlogTour

TITLE: What To Say Next

AUTHOR: Julie Buxbaum

PUBLISHER: Penguin Random House

PUBLICATION DATE: July 11, 2017

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.
  
Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.

KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they?  I don’t even understand.
 
DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her. 

When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David.  Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

MY REVIEW:

What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum is a weird (“good weird” 😉) book for me. It has weird (“good weird”😁) main characters. It has a good weird plot. I good weirdly love it!

My attention hasn’t been caught until Chapter 7. For the first six chapters, I thought it was kind of slow-paced, and I hate slow-paced books. But, when I got to Chapter 7, I already thought that “Wow, it’s getting interesting!”

Before reading this book, I have zero idea of what it is about. I think the synopsis is so vague, especially when you get to actually read the book, you’ll just realize that the synopsis gives nothing about what the book is really about; and I think it’s good. It’s good to be surprisingly amazed!

This is my first time reading a book by Julie Buxbaum and I’m thinking why I haven’t read Tell Me Three Things (and her two other novels) before. Now, I’m putting Tell Me Three Things on my to-buy-and-to-read-ASAP list because I REALLY LOVE JULIE BUXBAUM’S WRITING!

What I love about What To Say Next:

  • It’s so fun to read! I really enjoyed it. I enjoyed getting to know David and Kit.
  • It’s like David and Kit are my BFFs and they’re telling me their story! It’s so cool to be part of the their tribe. 😉
  • It is such a DIVERSE read! 💓
  • It has unique characters and unique plot.
  • David is so weird, good weird.
  • I get to know more about David’s situation (I’m not gonna say what situation because I think it’s spoilery? 😀)
  • I feel so connected with David and Kit.
  • I love how the feeling of loss and being different was dealt so real and raw here.
  • All these are caused by one thing actually: SUPERB WRITING!

    There’s only one thing that I didn’t like about it though. It’s the last part, like the last four or five chapters. I think the ending is somehow good, but I think it could be better. It’s just that I feel cheated. But nevertheless, I want more of David and Kit! 💓

    I recommend this if to everyone. You’ll surely love it! It’s now my new favorite YA contemporary novel. Welcome to my tribe!

    *Thank you so much to Fay of Bibliophile Soprano and to Penguin Random House for making this blog tour happen. This, however, does not affect my opinion on the book.*

    MY RATING: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

    BUY IT HERE:

    Book Depository | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

    Enter here for a chance to win a finished copy of What To Say Next!

    10 thoughts on “REVIEW: What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum | #WTSNPHBlogTour

    1. Vijayalakshmi Harish says:

      I don’t usually read much YA contemporary, but this sounds like a great book. And if it’s a diverse read, then I’m definitely putting it on my tbr 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    2. This sounds really good 🙂 something I would need right now! Because I just started reading They Both Die At The End, and Adam Silvera is giving me the blues xD it’s just so sad!
      P.S. sorry if I followed and unfollowed your blog several times xD my browser does that… I think I got it fixed now and am def following.
      So see you around 🙂

      Like

    3. I was such a big fan of Tell Me Three Things that I’m beyond excited to read What To Say Next! Your review made me even more pumped to read it, and I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I just stumbled upon your blog, and I’m greatly enjoying its content.

      I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

      If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

      Like

    Leave a Reply

    