I’m determined to read these! | January 2017 TBR

Howdy, buddy! Welcome to my first post for this year, and also my first post using my ~creative / artsy~ titles (just say yes! 😀 ) So anyway, I am levelling up my game this year and decided to read 100 books. It’s really a big number since I only read 40 books last year. But, let’s just be optimistic and get this game on!

Now, let me show you the books that I would really love to read this month.

Continue reading

REVIEW: Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

28186273

TITLE: Our Chemical Hearts

AUTHOR: Krystal Sutherland

PUBLISHER: Penguin Random House

PUBLICATION DATE: October 4, 2016

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

John Green meets Rainbow Rowell in this irresistible story of first love, broken hearts, and the golden seams that put them back together again.

Henry Page has never been in love. He fancies himself a hopeless romantic, but the slo-mo, heart palpitating, can’t-eat-can’t-sleep kind of love that he’s been hoping for just hasn’t been in the cards for him—at least not yet. Instead, he’s been happy to focus on his grades, on getting into a semi-decent college and finally becoming editor of his school newspaper. Then Grace Town walks into his first period class on the third Tuesday of senior year and he knows everything’s about to change.

Grace isn’t who Henry pictured as his dream girl—she walks with a cane, wears oversized boys’ clothes, and rarely seems to shower. But when Grace and Henry are both chosen to edit the school paper, he quickly finds himself falling for her. It’s obvious there’s something broken about Grace, but it seems to make her even more beautiful to Henry, and he wants nothing more than to help her put the pieces back together again. And yet, this isn’t your average story of boy meets girl. Krystal Sutherland’s brilliant debut is equal parts wit and heartbreak, a potent reminder of the bittersweet bliss that is first love.

(Read more for my review)

Continue reading

REVIEW: The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby

28925213

TITLE: The Stranger Game

AUTHOR: Cylin Busby

PUBLISHER: Harper Collins

PUBLICATION DATE: October 25, 2016

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance.

When Nico Walker’s older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah’s daily cruelties.

Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found.

But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She’s thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah’s retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical—where she’s been the last four years and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah. . . .

(Read more for my review)

Continue reading

REVIEW: Saving Red by Sonya Sones

28446327TITLE: Saving Red

AUTHOR: Sonya Sones

PUBLISHER: Harper Collins

PUBLICATION DATE: October 18, 2016

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

Right before winter break, fourteen-year-old Molly Rosenberg reluctantly volunteers to participate in Santa Monica’s annual homeless count, just to get her school’s community service requirement out of the way. But when she ends up meeting Red, a spirited homeless girl only a few years older than she is, Molly makes it her mission to reunite her with her family in time for Christmas. This turns out to be extremely difficult—because Red refuses to talk about her past. There are things Molly won’t talk about either. Like the awful thing that happened last winter. She may never be ready to talk about that. Not to Red, or to Cristo, the soulful boy she meets while riding the Ferris wheel one afternoon.

When Molly realizes that the friends who Red keeps mentioning are nothing more than voices inside Red’s head, she becomes even more concerned about her well-being. How will Molly keep her safe until she can figure out a way to get Red home? In Sonya Sones’ latest novel, two girls, with much more in common than they realize, give each other a new perspective on the meaning of family, friendship, and forgiveness.

(Read more for my review)

Continue reading

COVER REVEAL: Until It Fades by K.A. Tucker

UNTIL IT FADES is a contemporary romance novel featuring K.A. Tucker’s signature heart-stopping suspense releasing May 2nd, 2017 and being published by Atria Books! Check out the gorgeous cover below and preorder your copy today!

 

until-it-fades-cover

About UNTIL IT FADES:

A sexy new romance about a small-town woman who saves the life of a mysterious man, and finds herself unexpectedly thrown into a whirlwind love affair, featuring bestselling author K. A. Tucker’s signature “well-constructed, pulse-pounding suspense” (USA TODAY).

Twenty-four-year-old truck stop waitress and single mother Catherine Wright has simple goals: to give her five-year-old daughter a happy life and to never again be the talk of the town in Balsam, Pennsylvania: population three thousand outside of tourist season.

And then one foggy night, on a lonely road back from another failed attempt at a relationship, Catherine saves a man’s life. It isn’t until after the police have arrived that Catherine realizes exactly who it is she has saved: Brett Madden, hockey icon and media darling.

Catherine has already had her fifteen minutes of fame and the last thing she wants is to have her past dragged back into the spotlight, only this time on a national stage. So she hides her identity. It works.

For a time.

But when she finds the man she saved standing on her doorstep, desperate to thank her, all that changes. What begins as an immediate friendship quickly turns into something neither of them expected. Something that Catherine isn’t sure she can handle; something that Catherine is afraid to trust.

Because how long can an extraordinary man like Brett be interested in an ordinary woman like Catherine…before the spark fades?

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Barnes & Noble

iBooks | Kobo | BAM | Indigo

 

 

author-pic-ka-tuckerAbout K.A. Tucker:

K.A. Tucker writes captivating stories with an edge.

She is the USA Today bestselling author of 14 books, including Ten Tiny Breaths and Burying Water, and her latest Adult Suspense novel, He Will Be My Ruin. Her books have been featured in national publications including USA Today, Globe & Mail, Suspense Magazine, and Publisher’s Weekly.

K.A. Tucker currently resides in a quaint town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and a Chug.

 

 

 

Website ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Novel Goodreads ** Author Goodreads ** YouTube ** Pinterest ** Instagram

 

 

inkslinger-blogger-new

REVIEW: Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

TITLE: Holding Up The Universe

AUTHOR: Jennifer Niven

PUBLISHER: Penguin Random House

PUBLICATION DATE: October 4, 2016

GOODREADS’ SYNOPSIS:

Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed “America’s Fattest Teen.” But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for every possibility life has to offer. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything. 

Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone.

Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game—which lands them in group counseling and community service—Libby and Jack are both pissed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.

(Read more for my review)

Continue reading

UNBOXING: The Dragon’s Hoard August Book Box + GIVEAWAY

This is the first international book box that I received, and I’m so excited about it! I was so satisfied with everything that The Dragon’s Hoard included in this box. It is truly connected with August’s theme, “Be Your Best Self“.

DSC_9068_edited

Here are all the contents of The Dragon’s Hoard August book box! Look at those yellow shcmancy fancy stuff! It looks so adorable!

DSC_9075_edited

This cutesy fruit notepad from Callicrafty is so on time for me since university works are already piling up and I need something handy to write reminders on.

DSC_9093_edited

These stickers from The Sticker Alley contain quotes from classic books are also really fantastic! I cannot wait to stick them on my planner and maybe also use them for my Instagram photos! I am also thinking of sticking them on my laptop. What do you think?

DSC_9095_edited

Where my cool kids at? Look at these really cool temporary tattoos from Create Explore Read! I love how it was designed personally for The Dragon’s Hoard. Yay! Thank you, Create Explore Read. I will definitely wear this when I film my next YouTube video (so I could look cool. Haha!)

DSC_9071_edited

DSC_9073_edited

I finally have a bookmark from Behind the Pages! I’ve been lurking around their Instagram and Etsy shop for ages, hoping that I could have enough money to buy from them and now I already have one! Boo ya! I love it! And look at that gold thing at the back of the bookmark. LOVELY!

DSC_9069_edited

I also got a 20% discount code to spend at Belle Regalia, which I’m giving away for free to you, lovely readers! Read on till the end of this post to know how to win the discount code.

And of course, the book included for the August box is…

25953366

The Just City by Jo Walton is a dystopian fantasy about creating a city as envisioned by Plato in The Republic. I am so excited to read this, because a) I love philosophy, it’s my favorite subject in college; b) I love fantasy; c) I can never have too many dystopian books. Ughhh I love this!

My rating for this box is definitely ! I would give all the stars and all the love to The Dragon’s Hoard book box! Thank you so much The Dragon’s Hoard for this very awesome book box!

**This box was sent to me by The Dragon’s Hoard in exchange of an honest review. This does not affect my opinion regarding the box.**

a Rafflecopter giveaway